Self Check is always a point of discussion when playing face to face over a real board.
For example, if neither player realise the Check and continue playing regardless, does that invalidate the whole game?
During a friendly one might argue that it doesn’t matter.
Wizard’s Dwellings follow a similar principle, but whence formed without an announcement, the Check may then be bypassed for the benefit of either player.
The rule here, is that Check by a Wizard’s Dwelling is only valid if it’s announced and most especially in the case of Unintentional Self Check.
In this example position, Black has just played 1. … Nxd4, capturing a Pawn and threatening White’s Rook on f3. Thus now White has just played 2. Rd3.
White believes he has trapped Black’s Knight and that he is therefore about to gain material.